Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that all the food in a country should mostly be locally produced, while a country needs to decrease its imported edible products. In my viewpoint, I strongly disagree with this statement and this essay will examine the reasons. First of all, it is an undeniable truth that not all countries have natural resources and lands that are suitable for agricultural activities. An example of those countries would be Singapore where there is limited land for farming and it needs to fully import food from its neighbour countries like Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia. Furthermore, some countries are located in areas where there has a chance to have natural disasters such as the Tsunami in Japan. If those countries need to rely on only domestic food production, hunger problems will be found due to limited resources. Furthermore, in some countries where there are fruitful food resources and large areas to produce food, exporting food plays an important role to improve their economies. For example, in Thailand, there are plenty of fruits that ship to many countries all around the world because Thailand is a tropical country where the plants can mostly grow throughout the year. Also, food exports largely contributed to Thai revenue. To conclude, although some argue that a country should consume domestic food than an imported one, I am against that statement as that concept is not suitable for some countries as those countries might experience a lack of natural resources. Also, I still believe that international food trading is important in global economics.