Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, social networking plays an important role in the modern world. Because of this, some individuals believe that people and society are impacted by them in a negative way. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I will explain my viewpoints in details in the ensuing paragraphs. First of all, it is an undeniable truth that social platform has become more popular over the past decade which has led to an increase in the number of cyber crimes. As a result, there are many types of illegal cyber activities such as hacking, scammer, ransomware attack or fraud on social media platforms. For example, some hackers might post links with viruses on social media platforms. After innocent users click on those links, their personal data, including username and password of financial account could be accessed by the hackers. Furthermore, another crucial negative impact of social media is cyberbullying. It is evident that many people, especially famous people, receive negative messages, harsh criticism, and bullying comments on social platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and TikTok. Those types of hate speeches are extremely dangerous for people who are depressed. To give a specific example, over recent years, there have been many Korean singers and actors such as Sully and Go-ara who committed suicide because of cyberbullying and harsh pressure on the internet. To conclude, some people argue that social media have many disadvantages points that impact both individuals and communities. In my opinion, I could not agree more with this statement as it leads to an increase in many cyber-attacks and cyberbullying.