Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop childrens' life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do ypu agree or disagree?

These days, some parents prefer an active spending of time with children for their development, while others consider that reading has always been the foundation of a child’s improvement. This essay will discuss the importance of the presented types of children’s advancement. To commence with, active pastime, for instance playing sports or participating in various activities, improves communication skills in a child’s development. Correspondingly, children from an early age learn how to adapt to society. Furthermore, activity in children's lives improves their health and endurance. Also, it develops systematicity, discipline and a wide worldview in children. The only drawback of this development is the child's severe fatigue after an active pastime of the day and also the possibility of burnout and lack of motivation. Along with the activity, reading also has a huge influence on improving children’s life skills. Essentially, reading provides knowledge about various assignments that cannot be performed without a prior understanding. In addition, reading increases the children’s vocabulary and enables them to speak more competently. Likewise, due to reading various stories or novels, children’s fantasy and imagination are developed, which is an important part for various activities related to active pastime. To sum up, both reading and activity are important in the development of children’s life skills. Children can read about absolutely everything, but without the practical experience that an active pastime provides, this knowledge is unlikely to be remembered. Therefore, these two aspects complement each other and in order for the child to grow up to be generally developed, they are both necessary.