Some people believe that success in sports depends on physical ability. But some people believe there are many factors that contribute to success at sports. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is commonly argued that physical talent is the key factor to significant achievements in sports. However, others contend that different components can make a contribution to success in sports. The essay will elaborate on both sides of the debate before explaining why I am in favour of the latter. On the one hand, physical prowess plays a crucial role in achieving success in sports competitions. This is because sportspeople can produce consistently outstanding results in their performance when they are physically strong. For instance, track and field athletes who have incredible muscle strength and stamina can outpace and surpass their competitors, contributing to their victories in racing events. It is apparent that without a perfect physique, many athletes might give up in the middle of the tournament when they realise that they cannot compete with the best and miss opportunities to break the record or become dominant. On the other hand, there are two other factors behind athletes’ sports achievements. The first one is their mental toughness. More specifically, they can overcome possible setbacks in their careers. To illustrate, Tuan Anh, a Vietnamese football player suffered from numerous leg injuries which prevented participation in any football matches for many years, but continued to practice every day instead of giving up playing. Thanks to his strong mentality, he came back and gave excellent performances, being praised as the best Vietnamese football player in 2021. The second factor is the mastery of skills. This can be explained by the fact that many sports require a high skill level from participants. A case in point is boxing as two opponents have to be able to dance around a ring, carefully consider their punches and defend their bodies from incoming blows. In conclusion, although each perspective has its own merits, I am of the opinion that mental prowess and the acquisition of varied skills are more significant factors contributing to great achievements in sports. Therefore, it is advisable that apart from keeping themselves physically healthy, people should build their mental strength and enhance their skills to succeed in sports.