Some people think that it’s important to spend money on family celebrations (e.g. weddings, birthdays). However, some think that expensive celebration are a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that allocating funding to family festivities such as weddings and birthdays is necessary. Nevertheless, others contend that it squanders money. This essay will elaborate on the opposing perspectives and the reasons why I am in favour of the former view. Admittedly, spending exorbitantly on family celebrations can be seen as extravagant to some extent. First, these celebrations last only one day or a few hours, which often leads to a waste of food and other elements, and are often not appreciated by guests. Therefore, the expenditure on them should be used for more practical purposes such as electricity, food supply, healthcare and their children’s education. Specifically, for those of low income, allocating income to regular occasions like these is not vital for them to sustain their lives. Furthermore, organising these occasions also creates expectations from children, friends and family members that this is the norm, so if the budget does not allow for them in the future, then their expectations are not met, leading to dissatisfaction among them. However, spending on household activities and celebrations is reasonable due to several benefits. The first one is that it can strengthen bonds between family members. This is because they have opportunities to reunite and update each other on their lives. For instance, a wedding is a special occasion for people to gather and share with their relatives about their current matters such as jobs, marital status and life events, forging their relationships. Another advantage is that family celebrations can foster family values. To illustrate, as a 30th wedding anniversary displays people’s long-lasting bongs, organising this type of event may encourage other married couples to focus on strengthening their relationships. In conclusion, each point of view has its own merits, however, I am of the opinion that people should spend their money on family celebrations because their familial relationships can be boosted and family values can be nurtured. However, costly celebrations should be organised by the wealthy only as they are financially affordable for them. It is advisable that people should refer to their financial state to decide how elaborate their family celebrations can be.