Some people think that it is fine for professional sportmen and sportwomen to misbehave on or off the field as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with thus statement.

Recently, there are much news about professional sportspersons who misbehave, either during their play or in their personal life. Some people think they can act freely as long as they perform well, while others think otherwise. In my opinion, due to their celebrity status, should behave nicely regardless of how they perform professionally. First of all, professional sportsperson should set an example as people look up to them. Their influence on the younger generations is tremendous, and thus, the effects especially on this group who are very impressionable will be detrimental. Bad influences such as smoking, taking recreational drugs and drinking excessively are a few examples that should not be carried out by sportspersons publicly. Sportspersons, like everyone else, should show a good attitude simply because it is the right thing to do. We adults generally are responsible for the image of our society. If everyone is kind and respectful to each other, our community will be harmonious and pleasant. Besides, a sportsperson, who is usually portrayed as a healthy, hopeful person, would tarnish this image if he is rude or mean. No matter how excellent a sportsperson he is, if his characters are bad, he will not be a good representative of the sports world. Punishments like banning them from participating in tournament can be imposed to discourage this kind of attitude. In conclusion, I firmly believe that professional sportsperson's behaviours have a great impact on society. They should watch out for negative traits and play their role well not only in sports, but also show a good example to the public.