Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society. Others say the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As in many cases, a huge part of governments’ monetary resources are dedicated to education, some argue that scholars must be taught in a way to be useful exclusively for society, regardless of their own aims. However, others including me believe that one of the main goals of education is gaining personal goals. On the one hand, obviously, significant budgets are allocated to universities and schools with the aim of boosting the quality of the educational system status; as governments want to guarantee they will have experts in various fields in the future. Also, some part of these funds are provided by taxes, paid by ordinary folks; as a result, they expect that those scholars work with their hearts for their country and try to develop it. For example, in the UK all the individuals including workers, teachers and engineers have to pay heavy taxes, decreasing their annual salaries; so they definitely want to benefit from this action, without paying attention to the students’ personal ambitions. On the other hand, the other application of education is to help scholars broaden their minds in order to discover their abilities to set goals for their future lives. Moreover, after spending several years on education, some find out they are interested in further education which is necessary to be a professional. For instance, some students just after finishing high school or even university find their real interests namely working as a musician or being a farmer. So, forcing them to go on to higher education just because of making society pleasant does not sound logical. That is because, each year, the appropriate number of professionals graduate, leaving no room for a lack of experts. In conclusion, however, loads and bunches of financial resources are dedicated to educational systems, but I suppose it is not fair to sacrifice someone’s dreams just due to this phenomenon.