Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

The money spent on research about the outer world is becoming an increasingly controversial topic among the residents of the earth. It is stated that a huge amount of money allocated for space discovery is a burden on taxpayers. Having information would certainly aid to understand the questions that have been asked for centuries by people, but there will also be some drawbacks. Everyone wonders how our planet was created and asks about it. That is one of the research topics of space exploration. Moreover, after the launch of a new telescope named James Webb, we are one step closer to finding out the answers. On the other hand, the population of world has boomed in recent years; therefore, humanity will need new types of resources to be able to remain to exist. For example, the last studies made on the surface of the planet Mars proved that mankind is capable of making mining activities on other planets. Unfortunately, the Universe is far larger than mankind’s imagination capacity. It takes months just to go to the surface of the moon; thus, the tangible result of that research will not be seen by the current taxpayers. The other disadvantage is the probability of dealing with other developed living forms. For instance, 50 years ago, NASA sent a message to outer space along with the spacecraft named Explorer 2, and today people are still discussing if it was the right thing to do or not. In conclusion, it helps us to get deeper knowledge about the Universe and it has many potentials such as supplying new sources for the usage of humanity, but the drawbacks are still there, it really takes a lot of time to make little progress. Besides, the possibility of an invasion should not be ignored by people.