Some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve the problem?

It has been observed that undergraduates don’t tend to find subjects appropriate for them they select. The main reason for this problem is the poor choice of parents and sometimes the unavailability of their wanted courses. This issue can be addressed by combined counselling of parents and students. First of all, the core reason college freshmen find unsuitable courses is the invalid choices of the guardian. Although sometimes parents take the charge and choose the right subjects for their young one’s behalf, it is a negative practice as it is seen that students aren’t interested in that particular topic and are forced to join on their peer’s pressure, where they don’t perform well ultimately leading to poorer grades. Moreover, they don’t find pleasure in the job ahead as they are always stressed out because they are not doing what they love., Secondly many desired course topics like arts and music aren’t always available in university or have limited seats hence individuals are forced to deviate from their track in order to save time. For instance, my friend joined MBBS as her parents wish to see her doctor but her own interest was in the fields of agriculture. This inappropriate decision of her elders ultimately led to frustration and anger and she was unable to complete her degree. This issue can be addressed by combined counselling of parents and college mates initially so that don’t waste their time and money in the selection of incorrect subjects. Detailed information should be given prehand at the school level and course outlines should be explained thoroughly to avoid dropping out of university. Moreover, guardians should understand the potential and abilities of their little ones and let them decide the right path to follow so that they could work on it wholeheartedly. For instance, some schools provide internships to their students in various departments to explore their interests and decide about their future career choices. In conclusion, college freshmen should be given full freedom to make their own career choices for better sustainable career growth. Hence parents ’ guidance along with students ’ passion can help achieve students desired results.