Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit this historical sites and museums?

These days, many museums and historical sites seem to appeal mainly to tourists rather than local visitors. This essay intends to discuss some reasons and propose solutions. There are various factors that affect the lower visiting of local people. One of the reasons why historic buildings are more attractive to tourists is that local citizens have already visited these places and may already have significant knowledge of their own culture and history; therefore, they do not feel excited while revisiting such places. Besides, nothing new is added to these places over the years, so local people who have been there before do not wish to come back again. Furthermore, a large number of local people probably prefer to spend their holidays visiting other areas outside their hometown because they are more interested in learning about other cultures and history rather than their own. However, some measures can be taken to spur more interest in local people coming to museums. It should be made compulsory to visit historic buildings for local schools. For instance, changing the teaching method could attract more students to participate in history courses, so visiting local museums might be the best way to achieve this. One possible solution may be for local governments to continually upgrade museums by rotating artefacts and displays, in order to arouse more interest from locals. Different exhibitions could be displayed and promoted more often, focusing on different themes, or aspects of the culture. In conclusion, attracting local people to visit museums and historical sites in their area may be a complex process; however, there are a number of ways that locals could be encouraged to do so.