In some countries more and more people are becoming intrested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, people have the tendency to search for historical information about the place they are likely to buy or live in. This essay will argue why this has become so important and how such information can be collected. Firstly, as people have become more familiar with their country or town's history, it has been popular to get to know about the structure, the architecture and also the usage of the place in the past. Sometimes it belongs to a century ago. Furthermore, some buyers or renters are enthusiasts and curious about whom the house belonged to. It would be more interesting if a royal family used to inhabit there rather than an ordinary or middle-class one. Considering a building refers hundreds of years ago if it has survived during this period, it means that one can trust how strong and reliable the structure is. For the second reason, it can be indicated that people belonging to a superstitious culture tend to not choose houses which are described as haunted ones. It definitely scares them. In terms of finding such information, people can reach the in various ways. If the house is located in a rural area, local communities are always aware of detailed information such as past owners or stories lying down its history. Although some might be rumours or local legends, they can strongly affect buyers' decisions. Another source is searching on the internet to find old printed newspapers or past owners who can provide them with needed information. Professional architects could also help by visiting the building. In conclusion, despite people's tendency to find out everything about their tob house, they should be aware of what they hear and not let their decisions be changed based on non-proven information.