The shortage in housing has severe social consequences in big cities. Only governments can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly observed that people from villages or underdeveloped parts of the country migrate to metro cities in search of better employment opportunities and to improve their standard of living. As a result of this, cities have become over-populated resulting into lack of housing facilities. In this essay, I will argue that the shortage of housing has serious consequences, and the government can play an important role in resolving this issue. Inadequate living spaces in urban towns are a serious cause of concern. To begin with, as the poor cannot afford the high rental costs, they start living in slum areas. This results in the development of slums. These areas become an epicentre of diseases as the masses live here in an unhygienic environment. For instance, Mumbai houses one of the biggest slum areas of India named 'Dharavi'. During the time of Covid-19,pandemic this place was one of the most infected area in India. Also, because the number of homeless people increases, it can lead to anan increase in criminal activities. Undoubtedly, the ruling authorities can take various measures to overcome this situation. They can take steps to develop the remote areas and generate employment in these places. If people can earn basic livelihood in their home town, they will prefer to stay close to their family rather than moving to new cities. To exemplify, the state government of Bihar, one of the biggest states in India, had rolled out many schemes to providing working opportunities for locals in the year 2015. This resulted in reducing the number of people shifting to other parts of India from Bihar. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that lack of housing in cities is one of the pressing issues and the primary responsibility to solve this lies on the government.