Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries .Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

In this contemporary world,many educational organisations utilise tests and various examinations as a method to evaluate a student's potential, career path and future.Here, the main question is whether testing is effective. Therefore, this essay will first discuss the benefits of testing and then the disadvantages. To begin with,many schools provide tests at the end of each term to see how well the students have grasped the knowledge in classes and lectures. As a result, it is aptly clear that exams and tests motivate children to study well. Thus, if these kids get good results this means testing is really effective. For example - students who wish to be a doctor have to be really knowledgeable and qualified. Consequently,it is important for these students to score well on their biology tests in order to achieve their end goal in the future. Further, tests will let students know where they lack, which will help students to focus on those areas before the main examination. For an instance - every school in Sri Lanka will have a mock test before the General Ordinary Level examination. Hence, this provides many educational benefits to students as they will know their weak subjects and motivate them to make more time to study those subjects before the main exam. However, there are some drawbacks to this approach and the following paragraph will elaborate more on this. Here, it is important to understand that intelligence is not an aspect that can be examined by a mere paper, and many smart students fail to get good grades because they get so stressed during exam. Henceforth, they forget what they studied and ultimately end up with results below their expectation. In addition, some students get demotivated after they see their results and feel like putting more effort into studying is worthless. In conclusion,testing provides many educational such as motivation to study and helps students to know their weak areas before the main exam. Nevertheless, despite the many educational benefits, I wholeheartedly believe that it is crucial for teachers to present more effective methods to assess students other than testing, so that they find it less stressful and enjoy studying their subjects in school.