Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams like football, while other people think taking part in individual sports is better, such as swimming. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

Nowadays sports are given great importance. Sportsmen and sportswomen, especially in big countries like America, Russia, China, Brazil and others are provided with maximum support and facilities from the government in order to become among the best athletes who can represent their nation in the Olympic games which would bring honour to their own countries. Some sports are played in teams while others are played individually. There are certain schools of thought that think that it is more advantageous to participate in sports which are played in teams because playing in a squad will help the individuals to develop certain values and discipline like teamwork. For example, in football, it is a prerequisite for the players to work together as a team in order to give their best when they are on the pitch. In addition, it becomes easier for individuals to attain their aims when they worked together as a team because the whole team would be likely to give their best so as to reach their goal, for instance, if all the football players of Manchester United club aims are to become the number one team in the world then it is possible to make this dream come true if all players work as one team. However, some people think that taking part in individual sports is much better. This may be true to some extent as being alone will encourage that person to give his or her best in order to win and not rely on other team members, in a sense, this will discourage the feeling of reliance on others. That individual can become the best version of himself or herself. Moreover, taking part in individual sports tends to avoid issues like having to listen to each and everyone’s opinions and views which are quite time-consuming,especially during important matches. To conclude, I would rather prefer sports which are played in teams as this would enable the players to develop several vital skills like respecting each other views, having patience with the team members and amongst others. These skills if inculcated in children at a very young age via sports would enable them to be an asset to society.