Some parents believe that watching TV and playing computer games should be limited and substituted by book reading. Do you agree or disagree?

Some parents support the idea that children should spend more time reading books rather than watching tv or playing computer games which should be restricted and also replaced by book reading as well. I totally agree with the statement. To begin with, spending overtime on computer games or tv can affect children's social abilities such as communication skills, and making new friends. For example, youngsters who are couch potatoes or gamers cannot be extroverts in the long run which also leads to mental disorders such as depression or anti-social behaviours. To make it clear, a study conducted on computer games and tv addiction in Germany has shown that children who are addicted to these devices are unlikely to take responsibility for their lives and be successful at school. However, if the time spent on tv and computer is restricted and replaced by reading habits, it is likely to develop cognitive skills in children. Books are the fountain of knowledge. They make our knowledge bigger which also turns us into intellectual individuals as compared to watching tv or playing games. Moreover, recent research on reading books in the USA proved that reading habits can reduce stress levels. For instance, If I feel stressed, I prefer reading a book which helps me to calm my mind and think more positively. Children who develop reading habits can be ahead of their peers at school and reach success by improving their knowledge. To conclude, watching tv and playing computer games should be restricted by parents and also replaced by book reading to make them smart individuals and improve their social skills.