Fewer and fewer people want to become teachers especially in secondary schools. Why this happening and what can be done to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, most tutors prefer not to teach high school learners because of several reasons. The essay below will discuss the causes of this situation and ways of dealing with its effects. First and foremost, in most countries, students have certain rights which makes some of them feel superior to their teachers. This has made most teenagers to be violent and disrespectful towards adults. Another reason is that, ever since corporal punishment was banned some students no longer listen to their instructors, in fact, they are harmful towards them. For instance, there are many videos circulating online showing secondary students beating their teachers. Some learners even go to an extent of bringing guns to school. This makes it difficult and risky to teach in secondary schools since teachers are no longer safe. To deal with the problems mentioned above, schools must introduce a compulsory course where pupils are taught about respect and the importance of school. Also, the government and schools must come up with new strategies and stricter laws to deal with such pupils. To illustrate, at a certain school in Zimbabwe, all disrespectful students are taken to the nearest police station, where they get beaten. After that, they are made to dig big pits as a form of punishment. This seems to have helped the percentage of scandals to reduce. The teachers at that school are no longer scared of learners like before. If such actions and more are introduced at schools, maybe other people might feel safe teaching in secondary schools. To conclude, the essay above has discussed the causes and solutions to teaching in secondary schools. Fear of death and too many rights given to students are some of the issues that drive teachers to avoid teaching in high schools. The solution to this is for the government and schools to introduce stricter laws and strategies. Also, students must be taught and groomed to respect adults.