Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is debatable whether individuals should watch foreign TV programs or local ones. From my perspective, both arguments are quite convincing to a certain extent, but I am still in favor of the former thanks to its diversity. The following paragraphs would shed light on my viewpoint Proponents of local movies and TV shows can argue that the local entertainment industry has special cultural content. It can pass on the traditional diet and lifestyle of indigenous to young and future generations who are difficult to learn or hear about these from any other sources. Take “ký ức vui vẻ”, a show revolving around the lives of Vietnamese individuals have changed since the 1960s. By watching this show, audiences may learn about things which are used to be popular in latter forty years such as folk games, bolero songs, old equipment, and historical stories about Viet Nam wars. However, I believe that the foreign entertainment industry contributes to the knowledge of viewers. First, the foreign show can provide for audience cultural diversity. For example, Investing Anna is a movie which talk about the life of Anna. This movie shows viewers her luxurious life in America including parties, shopping, and travel. This enriches the cultural understanding of locals who do not opportunity to go broad. Second, a viewer can learn a new foreign language. For instance, Friends is a famous series which is considered to be the English learning material of a significant number of English learners in the world. The language used in the movie is both easy to learn and practical In conclusion, though local film production importantly contributes to the culture of locals, foreign movies are crucial in learning knowledge horizons. However, viewers can use both of them as a tool for acquiring new knowledge.