Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of foods imported from countries all over the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, a number of supermarkets are selling a diverse array of items from all over the world without limitation on the products produced locally. This essay will examine both the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and issue my own perspective that there are more benefits than the drawbacks. In the first place, the positive implications exist in multifaceted aspects. Primarily, such globalized supermarkets enable citizens to have easier access to internationally diverse products. These kinds of supermarkets provide a multitude of items from different brands and manufacturers, allowing customers to have more choices when shopping and to make better decisions by comparing the same products from various brands in terms of prices and qualities. Moreover, this trend also contributes to economic progress. These international supermarkets reflect the demands for imports, which may be considered an impetus to economic development. In the second place, we cannot deny that supermarkets selling worldwide commodities may pose some risks to the environment and local industry. Firstly, if a supermarket wants to sell products overseas, the distance of transportation and distribution will increase, resulting in more carbon dioxide emissions during this process. Such greenhouse gas emissions are the main causes of environmental issues today, such as global warming and sea level rise. Additionally, relying on imported items excessively may undermine the local industry. For instance, when more people choose to purchase imported commodities, the sales of local products will decrease. In conclusion, even though the negative effects inevitably can be found in the process of supermarket globalization, we cannot neglect the positive implications this trend can exert on people’s shopping availability and societal economy. On balance, I believe there are more advantages than disadvantages, especially in the context of globalization.