News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Though the mode of sharing news has evolved throughout the history of humankind, its significance of it has been unchanged. However, nowadays, news outlets are habituated to portraying negative sides but there has been always a thought to focus on positive aspects as well. First and foremost, journalists are considered the 4th pillar of democracy, because, with their absence, the world will never be able to know the truth. For example, a corrupt government amended a bill in order to please a handful of businessmen, who fund the election for them. A common man will never be able to know it until it is revealed by an honest newspaper. Therefore, the news gives the power of knowledge to choose the right candidate and it signifies its importance. On the other hand, although news empowers a human, there are many people who believe that the negativity served on newspaper and tv channels can have a negative impact on a person. However, any media company would be business-oriented and want to earn profits by increasing viewership; and as per human psychology, a human mind may feel more attracted to negative things. Considering that aspect media houses are keen to find negative news to increase their customer base which will attract more profits. In a nutshell, Journalism was and will be an important part of society, but the strategy to broadcast twisted news to earn viewership will raise the question on the creditability of such an important industry. I believe every piece of news should be published with equal effort without considering whether it is positive or negative.