Some people are of the view that students should keep a gap of one year without study between school and university. While others think it affects learning. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion by giving relevant reasons and examples.

A gap year has become a trend among young adults. The topic has been stirred up controversy worldwide. In this essay, both sides will be discussed and my opinion will be given. Firstly, taking a gap year is a great opportunity to explore life. I strongly believe it is a perfect timing after the students have theorically study in classes for years. This is the appropriate time for them to physically explore the world by themselves. Furthermore, this is a chance where they can use for self-discovery, the career they want to pursuit in the future. The gap year will enable to trial and error on activities they have been planning to, such as travelling, taking second language courses, or starting some businesses. Experiences gained from such activities can help to guide the tweens to aware more on their preferences and goals in the future. However, gap year could be counted as time and money wasting from parents' point of view. They feel that it is useless as the youngster have not yet been fully equipped with enough knowledge. To illustrate this, the students might want to start a business but they have not learnt much about business practices. So there is a high tendency that the business will not be success as it should be. Both financial and time are fully consumed and wasted. As a result, disadvantages outweight advantages in this case. To conclude, I strongly believe that students should take a gap of one year because it is the good chance to gain new experiences they have never faced in classroom. However, it could be time and money wasted if they are taking the risk too high level without full knowledge.