It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping in the community. What are the benefits and drawbacks of such a requirement for the community and young adults?

To Begin with, volunteering for environmental issues or helping the underprivileged sections of the society helps balance society. Youth or the so-called millennium generation plays a very positive role in helping grow a better world to live in. I strongly believe in this statement. Firstly, today’s digital world has let humans to be multi-taskers as they are handling their work life and professional life well. Whenever they get a time out of work, they spend that working for the environment and for the weaker section of society. For Example, on weekends people visit beaches to gather plastic waste around it to help clean the water bodies, and some people take tuition classes for children working as labour, Moreover, people from well-to-do families distribute blankets, food, old books and many kitchen items to the homeless or the ones need of them. Secondly, there are a few drawbacks as well of the unpaid services discussed above, few people can be hazardous to theft and robbery. Furthermore, they might have a time crunch as working in companies and spending time with families may result in time issues. Another factor may be that helping an injured animal on roads may lead to animal bites and infection. To conclude, taking time out, or opting for such a cause will make any human more grounded and calm wherein, realising what privileges one has and how he/she can help a bit to bring that happiness to someone’s face. Making the world a better place to live is what we all have been struggling for.