In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is true in recent decades consumption of imported foods that are exported by international food industries are increasing among individuals in most countries. Although food trading can bring several benefits for both trade sides, I believe choosing local foods are significant in many ways. On the one hand, worldwide food companies try to expand their markets around the world. Firstly, people as final customers want to experience new aromas of cuisine from all over the world. It is a popular human characteristic to try new things. Secondly, advertisements play a major role to change people’s tastes. Sometimes in direct mode like TV ads and sometimes in indirect advertising through movies and festivals. Moreover, nations also export their cultures and lifestyles besides food. For instance, today many in countries Chinese foods are too popular. Lots of Chinese restaurants spread their culture next to selling food. On the other hand, local food industries need a precise program to develop and compete with international companies. At first, local factories could improve their product quality by following the highest worldwide standards to encourage their customers to buy local cuisines. As a result, some people who prefer imported cuisines because of their quality and taste are encouraged to buy local foods. In addition, they should try to develop varieties of their products to cover all different types of people’s tastes. For example, Coca-Cola is the most popular drink in the world and some local companies buy a license to make it in their own countries. By doing this, they expand their markets and individuals have opportunities to buy international drinks even cheaper than imported ones. To sum up, these days individuals prefer imported cuisine rather than local foods and it causes by several reasons such as advertisements, qualities, and trying new tastes. However, investing in local food industries has more beneficial for growing the economy and food security for people and their countries.