The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s fast-paced world, scientific advancement has become a key factor to ensure a secure and fulfilling life, this is why some people argue that the people’s lives improvement should be the most important goal of science. Personally, I agree and believe that if other aims such as discovering the unknown windows of the universe or producing war-related equipment are valued over the former aim, mankind will witness the detrimental consequences of these approaches. In case scientist do research solely due to their sense of curiosity and fulfilling this need, it would be time-consuming and energy-consuming. In other words, scientists sometimes investigate the possible aspects of a particular subject just because they aspire to uncover the covered facts and hope that these results will be practical in the future. However, most of the time, these findings are not efficacious and in correlation with the current needs and mankind’s issues, leading to consuming time, natural resources and financial support, which could be utilized in reaching other goals. For instance, investigations on finding a new method to cure cancer would be more effective in comparison to a study focused on the reason why cats purr. Furthermore, war equipment is the manifestation of scientific work, which has revolutionized the whole world in this deleterious and irredeemable way. These days numerous individuals, predominantly vulnerable groups of people including elderly ones, children etc. are being killed due to the emergence of war and using these weaponry machines, which all have been invented because of scientific enhancements. This is the reason why the science world should be oriented to make people’s lives better and prevent such harmful and devastating accidents from influencing the population. In conclusion, I believe the most important part on which science should set its goals is undoubtedly human improvement, preventing the use of resources to reach useless and purposeless outcomes and to eliminate detrimental impacts of war.