Giving detailed description of crimes in news papers and on television has bad consequences. Some people therefore suggest that the government should impose restrictions on them. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, details of crime scenes in written and digital sources such as newspapers, and television are been increasingly shown which has a detrimental effect on society. A significant number of people thus feel that there is an urge to force restrictions on these activities. I personally feel that even after imposing restrictions, these can not be controlled fully and hence I do not agree with this statement. To commence with, appearing of illegal activities on media platform provides a sense of knowledge about what is going on in the outside world to juveniles and further help them to prepare for the worse. For instance, parents teach their children about the wrong things in the world after getting a reality check from these media sources so as to keep their families safe in case they come across any such incident. Unlawful activities should be visible to the people so as to give them a view of what is right and what is wrong, hence forcing restrictions is not a solution that can be seen for an unwelcomed consequence. Further, news channels and printing press earn a major chunk of their money from displaying such news that would be a good hit on their sales, Television rating points and further would help them gain viewers. Media nowadays is more focused on channelizing such news on their channels that can get the focus of their viewer, which again would not be supporting the fact of pushing reduction on crime news by the authorities. For example, crime cases such as rape cases are presented in a way on television and in newsletters so as to touch the sentiments of the readers which also has a positive impact on them and could help in limiting such crimes as well. To conclude, it is foremost that limiting offensive news would not be a clear solution to the outcome being faced as highlighting such issues creates awareness among the people and also helps to curb such crimes once they would be viewed by a larger group of people. Likewise I do not agree with the statement.