It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

Taking a gap year before starting university is becoming noticeably common. While this trend has some positive points, I personally believe that its drawbacks are more. There are some upsides to taking a year off before college. One of the primary benefits is that the young generations might have a chance to follow their interest in order to recognize their true talent. At school due to some fixed curriculum, the students do not have sufficient time to explore their inner gifts. A year may let them find their real passion and choose the right major to study at the university. Moreover, some youngsters tend to work in their gap year. Having a job before college might help them to save some money and become more independent. They might be able to apply for a better university or leave their home town to study abroad. However, I think there are numerous downsides to this trend. Firstly, not starting university at that critical time after graduating from school throws young people off their track. They find more friends or start romantic relationships and try to behave like an adult. As a consequence, the majority of them lose their motivation and do not enrol on the university. Secondly, the gap might be extended to several years instead of just one year. They just stuck in doing some general jobs for years and it became hard for them to get back to the academic atmosphere. They cannot get any promotion in their career and will remain workers forever. In conclusion, although the gap year has some pros, I assume that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.