Young people spend most of their free time in shopping malls . This has many negative impacts on young people and society. do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, most juveniles spend their leisure time in shopping malls. This has many implications for the younger generation and society as a whole. Therefore, the following paragraphs will elaborate on this matter. To begin with, back in the day many people used to go shopping to buy essential goods like food. But now, with the rapid growth of technology, many items are constantly advertised on social media platforms like Instagram or physical stores keeping eye-catching items at the entrance just to attract young people. Hence, this makes them purchase unnecessary items in big quantities. Further, another reason for unnecessary spending is that many youngsters like to keep up with the latest fashion trends just to fit in with the crowd. As a result, this encourages them to spend more time looking for these items such as clothes and waste money needlessly. For example - recent research shows that 70% of teens spend their free time in shopping centres and 50% of them end up purchasing and paying for new dresses or trousers bought with a credit card. Moreover, when young girls and boys spend most of their time shopping, this means they won't be able to socialise with others. Thereafter, they will feel isolated and lonely. Hence, it will negatively impact their physical and mental health. For instance, a study conducted by the Indonesia University of Education revealed that adolescent with the habit of shopping spree has over 40% of incidence developing depression later in life. In conclusion, it is aptly clear that spending most of one's time shopping will lead to purchasing unnecessary items and will negatively impact a person mentally and physically.