Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Deciding whether to take a study break after finishing school or before starting university is always a debatable issue among current youth. While a break of one year in between studies can delay the completion of a university education, it also provides ample opportunities to drive the direction of one's life and career. This essay will discuss that a year off from studies, for travel or work experience, offers more advantages than disadvantages. Being away from studies for a year is certainly beneficial, as this time can be used by an individual, through travel to new places or through work, to figure out the direction of life and career. Usually, youngsters at this age do not have a clear perspective on the kind of study or profession they want to pursue. For example, my cousin, who just finished high school, is still confused and is trying to figure out what to do next for his career, and he would most likely get benefited if he spends some time travelling or finding jobs to figure out his interests. On the other hand, those who start post-school education straight after year twelve do not have a gap in their academic profile. Yet, they would lag behind on a considerable amount of work and life experiences. For instance, as per a recent study by the University of Melbourne, continuous studies can sometimes tire out students causing frequent burnouts at work later in life. Clearly, it is less advantageous to not take a study break after secondary schooling. In conclusion, the above discourse discussed the pros and cons of students pursuing holiday breaks or work rather than joining a university immediately after finishing secondary education. The arguments given above affirm the benefits of taking a study break.