Some people believe that handwriting is no longer useful in the modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, technology has found its paths into our lives and the way of writing has been revolutionised. It is believed by many people that the skill of writing by hand is no longer useful as typewriting is much more common and preferred these days, whilst others claim the opposite. I understand that handwriting has certain drawbacks, nevertheless, completely removing it from school curriculums seems inappropriate. In this essay, I will explain my opinions in detail. On the one hand, it is undeniable that handwriting is far less efficient than typewriting. For the majority of people, it is much faster and more convenient for them to type than write. Furthermore, sometimes poor handwritten work could cause misunderstandings such as unrecognizable contents or spelling mistakes. By contrast, typing could avoid this problem effectively. For example, many computer software nowadays has spell and grammar check functions, which help eliminate those mistakes that could possibly occur in handwriting. Therefore, handwriting has significant disadvantages over typewriting. On the other hand, though writing by hand does have certain problems, completely removing it from school studies is not wise. Firstly, handwriting is a fundamental and important part of the learning procedure of any language. For instance, every school starts teaching how to write letters or characters to help students better understand and get familiar with a language. Secondly, not all students can afford to buy laptops or tablets, and as a result, the only way for them to take notes or finish assignments is by handwriting. Last but not least, many seniors may have trouble adapting to typing because they grew up without the modern technology that we have these days and thus writing is more friendly to them. Hence, due to these reasons, handwriting should definitely be taught at schools. To summarise, I admit that handwriting has drawbacks on several occasions and it is not beneficial. However, as I have mentioned above, eliminating it from school curriculums causes unavoidable troubles and difficulties. Therefore, it is still necessary to keep this system at schools.