In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

In educational contexts and practical workplaces, some students and colleagues are more hardworking. This essay will explore the reason for such a phenomenon and discuss if it is a positive trend all the time. From my perspective, people who put in extra effort might either want to create an edge or simply lack competence. For the first reason, they might have stronger motivation and emulation which drive them to spend more time on the tasks. With more achievements, they are more likely to have greater opportunities and easier to get promoted, which will benefit their career. For the second reason, some of them with low proficiency might be afraid of falling behind others. For instance, some pupils are afraid of bad scores as they may be blamed by parents and teachers, reducing their time for entertainment as well as having a narrower way of pursuing further study. Similarly, staff who had the worst performance have a higher possibility of being dismissed so that they can compensate for their incompetence. However, the continuous involution in studying and working overtime may bring negative effects. To begin with, excessive workloads will squeeze time for relaxing which may lead to stress-related health issues, ignoring work-life balance. For instance, some unfortunate workers die of sudden cardiac death after working overnight. Moreover, extra working volume possibly means fewer job vacancies for others, which will trigger a higher quantity of unemployment numbers, further causing a potential financial crisis. This phenomenon is not only against individual interests, but a social issue related to millions of families living. In conclusion, working hard can contribute to personal improvement in some ways while generating side effects individually and socially.