The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Scientific purposes have been the topic of much thought and discussion. Although some people believe that the most significant purpose of science is enhancing people's quality of life, I completely disagree with this idea which I will consider now. Boosting different aspects of people's lives is one of the purposes that science follows but it is not the only one. With advancements in technological equipment, doctors can diagnose various diseases easily and fast, significantly increasing life expectancy and reducing the child mortality rate. In addition, innovations such as the internet, smartphones, and laptops have revolutionized communication and business, so people with the help of these digital technologies can connect across vast distances and access information, thereby enhancing productivity and improving work- life balance. However, science plays a crucial role in the improvement of the environment. In terms of environmental prospects, scientific advancements have paved the way for a deeper understanding of environmental issues like floods, climate change, and pollution which are caused by human activities. For instance, research in renewable energy technologies such as solar and wind power reduces our reliance on fossil fuels, thereby lowering carbon emissions and slowing global warming. In addition, animal welfare is as, important as if not more important than, human life for the scientific approach. Scientific research has shown that poor treatment of animals can lead to some severe diseases that jump from animals to humans like sars, and COVID-19, so it is important for science to reduce the risk of outbreaks from animals, leading to public health and safety. In conclusion, from my point of view, individual quality of life is one of the most important aims of science but without preserving animals and addressing environmental issues, it cannot happen.