The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Human beings usually misinterpret the terms ‘Smart’ and ‘Intelligent’, presuming both to be the same. I hate to break it to you but there is a night and day difference between the two. The former helps you achieve the success you’ve been thriving for whereas the latter improves your grades that’s it. Intelligence has got something to do with your knowledge about things pertaining to academics, whereas smartness depends on your skills at solving real-life problems. Unfortunately, Universities are emphasizing more on improving their peer’s intelligence rather than smartness. Einstein was the most intelligent being of his era, yet he was never deemed successful or rich. You might be coming to the same page I am on with this; I believe. A college is a great place, it teaches you everything, from coding the most complex algorithm using python to designing one of the sturdiest structures in the world. But is it helpful for solving your day-to-day hardships? I would firmly say no. Additionally, I believe educational institutes teach us how to work in corporate rather than helping in build us one. Now you may ask, what are the “things” that schools fail to teach, the answer is simple, ’ Survival Tactics '. Working under severe pressure, dealing with different types of people, the art of delegation, the ability to fit in any group etc are a few of many things schools fail to teach. Nevertheless, it is worth mentioning a few points that could be learned indirectly from institutes. Firstly, time management is something which is not directly taught, but you tend to learn due to the hectic schedule in college. Furthermore, presuming that you would give only a limited amount of pennies, you are taught how to manage your money which is crucial in today’s world. Finally, If you are someone who has travelled miles away from family for education, you are expected to take care of yourself and be responsible. Now, all these things are not learnt through colleges directly, but they are learnt because of college so we cannot give full credit to universities. Nonetheless, they deserve appreciation Long story short, I would like to conclude my essay with Abdul Kalam’s quote, ‘Great minds are found at the back bench’. Front benchers concentrate on how to solve complex maths questions, whereas backbenchers are always in the quest to become smart, which is the prime reason why they are successful.