What is your opinion about the advantages of smoking cigarettes?

Despite the fact that smoking severely harms our health as it could lead to certain lung diseases, some people still believe that it has merits such as relaxing nerves and helping us lose body weight. From my point of view, these thoughts suffer from logical and factual issues, and I hardly agree with them. In this essay, I will discuss why I disagree with them with proper explanations and exemplifications. To begin with, though smoking is indeed one of many ways to help people calm down when they are nervous or anxious, it is not the only approach. There are many other much healthier alternatives, for example, chewing gum, taking a deep breath or drinking some water. Without a doubt, any of these methods is much better than taking cigarettes. Hence, this first advantage of smoking seems not convincing. Next, when it comes to losing weight, there is no scientific evidence demonstrating that smoking has a positive impact on it. In sharp contrast, several studies have shown the exact flipping opposite. For instance, research has shown that nicotine is one of those sources that could possibly boost a person's appetite, which leads to the risk of gaining more weight. Therefore, the claim of smoking benefits weight loss is disproven. In conclusion, there is a considerable portion of the population that claims smoking has its own merits. However, as I have mentioned above, some of these "advantages" are actually problematic and there are much better options that benefit our mental and physical health.