International air travel has a negative impact upon the environment and should therefore be restricted.Do you agree or disagree?

Air travel is one of the major sources of environmental pollution. Flying is bad for the planet because it contributes to global warming and increases carbon footprint. I agree with the set of people who believe that travelling by air should be kept under control and this essay will discuss my notion further. First of all, commuting by aeroplane leads to climate change. The fuels used by flights generate a huge amount of gases in the atmosphere, especially, in the upper layer where these prove to be hazardous. Carbon dioxide released in the air adds up with other gases and their mixture produces toxic chemicals which stay in the environment for a longer period. For example, research shows that aeroplanes are responsible for almost fifteen per cent of global warming. Therefore, it is advisable to prefer solutions that are greener for the planet. Secondly, aviation is also one of the highest contributors to the increased carbon footprint. For instance, a person travelling by air produces almost two-fifty kilograms of carbon dioxide per kilometre, which is equal to the total carbon emission of a whole family in a year. Although flights greatly save our time, they have a harmful impact on the atmosphere. In conclusion, I just want to say that governments should put a limit on flight usage. A wider network of railways or roadways should be built for local travel and green technology should be worked upon for flight emissions. Until and unless, strict regulations are in place, air travel will indeed hamper our nature.