The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools,where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that information technology is a crucial part of every field. This is why teaching such a subject in secondary school is a common situation. What is more, now kids in their first grade are starting to learn about IT as well. Although, some individuals are worried that the basic skills are not covered as well, as IT classes are in my opinion, the ability to code, which is one of the topics of IT knowledge can be extremely beneficial for each kid. Also, in the future, computer skills will be really useful. First of all, in order to expand information about every field, including information technology, it is essential to know how to read or count at the level. This is the reason why I believe IT classes are not a threat to the rest of the important subjects. Furthermore, children might combine math with computer classes. Math is the fundamental part of many algorithms, such as python or C++. That leads to the conclusion that more contact with computers causes more contact with math in the last. In addition, there is one more useful skill, which is being taught on IT subject. This is logical, and reasoning thinking, that ability helps in a number of exams, homework, and so on. What is also important is the fact that the sooner children start learning something, the simpler will it be for them later. However, people should bear in mind that six years old is a minimal age, otherwise, it may not be efficient for anybody. In conclusion, teaching IT can be for one somehow scary, but in the long run, it will bring beneficial skills and knowledge. And the basic skills are not in danger, for sure.