Some people say that at all levels of education, from primary school to university, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree? Read my sample answer here. Reported on IELTS October 5th

It is generally believed that our educational system from as low as elementary to as high as university mostly concentrates on learning from books instead of doing skills that are practical. I strongly agree that this has become our learning methodology for decades. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on two reasons why this is the case. To begin with, the majority of institutions throughout the world have agreed to adopt the methods to teach students facts because these are the simplest to get done in the first place and also the friendliest with the learning process timeline. No matter what kind of materials the teacher and students are discussing, it is relatively easier for them to finish a subject at a given time than doing practical skills as mostly the sources are from textbooks. Secondly, many argue that practical skills are not as crucial as learning facts. The latter exists because it is required for everyone as it enhances the ability of the brain to think more rationally. Despite any job anyone will have in the future, they will still need rational thinking in their career. This ability can only be done when people dwell on things related to learning facts; they are encouraged to maximise their brain power, meticulously find proofs in everything, solve quantities problems, etc. In essence, it takes years to develop this skill. In conclusion, many schools have prioritised the methods of learning facts because of all the advantages, namely to meet the curricula's timeline and the higher demand this method has on anyone.