Some people argued that history is of little or no use. Others believe that studying history gives many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over absorbing history. Some claim that it is useless to spend time studying such a subject, meanwhile, the opposite makes a statement that it is of tremendous upsides. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, old stories about a country bring advantageous impacts. To be more precise, history help people learn about how great institutions are formed and contributed to where ethnicity is today. For instance, the Temple of Literature which is the first university in Viet Nam built by Ly Thanh Tong has a profound meaning for literature and art. This place is preserved as one of Vietnam’s historical monuments because of its precious cultural value. Hence, studying history acts as a precursor for identity interpretation. While the redeeming features of studying history are widely acknowledged, some people hold a strong view that history plays an insignificant role in national development. To be specific, history is a field that is rarely used in people’s lives, therefore, they would rather pay attention to science or technology than undividedly focus on something that brings no relevant values to the present or future. For instance, Vietnamese students in almost high schools are interested in discovering advanced technological devices than absorbing historical inventions. Therefore, history can be taken into consideration as an inapplicable subject to citizens. To sum up, acquiring historical insight, though redundant according to some, seems to be of great value due to marking a specific identity.