In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In various nations around the world, youngsters are advocated that take a year's break in order to work or travel before beginning one's tertiary education. Although there is a multitude of positive aspects to this trend, there are undoubtedly also a number of obvious drawbacks which deserve serious consideration. There are two major benefits to the above-mentioned development, with the most significant one being that through travelling, students will be able to expand their horizons. When students go overseas, they will be exposed to different cultures and customs. As a result, they will gain a deeper understanding of the world. Secondly, working for a year before starting university is also advantageous because students will learn to appreciate the value of money. This is because they will realize the hard work involved in earning money. Consequently, they would think more before purchasing anything they desire and may become less impulsive in their spending. The above advantages notwithstanding, there are certain disadvantages that need to be acknowledged. In the first place, travelling could cause people to feel homesick. Many students have not been apart from their family and friends before so when they travel, they may miss these people. In extreme circumstances, students may even become depressed. Not only could take a gap year mean that students miss their families, but it could also result in them not returning to their studies. The reason for this is that they may enjoy earning money and becoming financially independent. Therefore, their whole future could be negatively affected as these days it is very important for everyone to graduate with a degree in order to be competitive in the job market. In conclusion, while there is no doubt that taking a gap year has considerable advantages, such as gaining invaluable experience and learning to become more independent in relation to money, one ought also to recognize that serious disadvantages do exist, two of which were mentioned above in this essay, namely the fact that students can become homesick and end up not continuing their studies. Whether the benefits to be gained outweigh the drawbacks is something that everyone should carefully consider when thinking about whether to take a gap year.