In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those crimes?

The discussion of increasing crime rates is surely one that begs the question of exactly how can we tackle it effectively. This essay will discuss the major contributors to this problem and will explain why I think that stringent punishments and generating various sources of income for the jobless are effective ways to remediate this problem. In today's era, the increase in unlawful activities has become quite evident. One main reason for this issue is higher inflation rates. Many countries across the globe are facing an economic crisis, hence they have increased the prices of various commodities massively. As a result, some people choose the wrong path to earn money and fulfil their selfish needs. Another major cause is job recessions; many companies are laying off their employees, and as a result, individuals are becoming jobless. This leads to poverty, and thus people are compelled to get involved in different criminal activities to gain some money. A majority of illegal activities in Southern Asia, for instance, mainly happen due to the lack of proper economic resources. There are effective ways to remediate this problem. Firstly, governments should introduce new sources of income to help the poor and needy. This approach will not only support their living but will also prevent them from going towards crime. For example, when jobless people will start earning money, they will experience a feeling of satisfaction and will be encouraged to do better in their work environment. Another step is to declare strict punishments for criminals. If jurisdictions declare longer sentences, this can create fear among offenders and they will think twice before getting engaged in any unlawful activities. To conclude, economic crisis and higher inflation rates are mainly responsible for the increasing levels of criminal rates. In my opinion, declaring longer sentences for the offenders and generating various employment opportunities can help in controlling such unlawful activities.