Some people say that industries growth is necessary to solve poverty, but some other people argue that industrial growth is creating environmental problems and it should be stopped. Discuss both perspectives and give your opinion?

It is controversial whether the growth of industries leads to the elimination of poverty since it can harm the environment. I partially agree with the former view, for the expanding economic activities promote employment opportunities for the poor regardless of the fact that they pose some dangers to nature with their pollutants. On the one hand, industrial growth will save more people with financial disadvantages as it encourages them to work more. In other words, the rapid advancement of economic activity will require employers to increase more labour to sustain their growth. Therefore, those who suffer from the lack of money due to unemployment are able to find jobs more easily so they are more likely to be independent to pay for their accommodation and food. Furthermore, individuals will be provided with the necessary amount of money, with which they can afford to pay their medical and educational fees as well. In addition, their standard of living will continue to rise when they remain employed for an extended period of time as some of them are even able to gain a more comfortable and entertaining life including watching movies in the theatres and enjoying shopping and their hobbies. As a result, the growing industries will make it possible to minimize the problem of poverty. On the other hand, there are some negative consequences that the expansion of factories will have on the environment because of their rising emission of harmful chemicals. Indeed, there will be a detrimental impact on nature as more factories are built and run for days and nights to increase their production. For instance, tons of contaminated water have been already emitted into the ocean from radiation plants which provide electricity in Japan. This can not only damage the quality of water in the sea but also cause more deaths of innocent marine creatures nearby. In fact, thousands of fish were washed up on the shore near Kanagawa last year, whose number of factories outweighs other parts of Japan. Consequently, the growth of economic activities will pose such a threatening outcome on nature, which cannot be recovered easily. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the expansion of business will help poor people find their jobs more easily, which allows them to gain more independence and satisfaction. However, people should be aware of the significant effect that it will have on the environment as it is damaged severely by the growing level of dangerous chemicals constantly produced by factories.