Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using cars?

In this rapidly progressing scientific era, technological advancements have enthralled the entire globe. Considerably, car ownership has displayed unprecedented growth over the past three decades. This has consequently led to the heavy congestion of traffic. According to my perspective, governments can definitely initiate some suggestive measures to control this menace. Commencing the discussion, the purchase and use of private cars have shown tremendous development over the past few decades. There are numerous reasons for which many individuals want to own private cars and freedom of commuting is perhaps the most important of them. Many also express immense enthusiasm concerning the new cars launched in the market as they come with new features, technology, safety measures and luxury. Consequently, the number of cars on the roads is increasing fast and it creates more traffic congestions than the roads and commuters can tolerate. Moreover, many authorities in developing countries bother the least to build more roads, suitable parking lots and their action further worsen the traffic problems. Further reinforcing my perspective, governments can take some stringent measures to reduce car ownership and control traffic congestions. Firstly, the administration should emphasise building adequate parking lots, new roads and flyovers to reduce the traffic jam pandemonium while also campaigning to encourage citizens to walk and ride bicycles whenever possible. Besides, the government must encourage the commuters to utilize more affordable public transportations like buses and metro trains rather than using their cars. Finally and most importantly, the government need to increase the tax on car ownership while also improve public transportations so that many people are dissuaded from purchasing cars. To recapitulate, concerned authorities should take strict measures to control car ownership in order to control the heavy traffic congestions and pollution. Apart from this, people should be made aware of the positive sides of walking and using eco-friendly transportations like bicycles.