In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In many developed countries, average life expectancy is steadily increasing. Although this trend reflects development in healthcare and living standards, there are possible challenges for both the community and individuals. This essay will discuss some problems caused by society and give possible measures that can reduce the impacts of ageing populations. One of the possible issues for individuals is financial difficulty in old age. After retirement, the majority of people stop working, but still need money for daily expenses and health care. As a result, they depend on society or family members. Another problem is poor fitness. Elderly people are more likely to suffer from long-term illnesses, which can make their lives uncomfortable and less active. For society, long ageing creates pressure on the healthcare system and pension funds. The government need to spend more money on hospitals, medicines and pensions. At the same time, fewer young people are working and paying taxes, which can slow down economic growth and cause labour shortages. To reduce population ageing, governments should take several measures. One of the solutions is to increase retirement age, so people have to work longer; as a result, they can support themselves with money for healthcare problems. Another important step is encouraging healthy lifestyles, as a result, people must do regular exercise and a balanced diet to reduce health problems in old age. In conclusion, however, there are possible developments in healthcare, long ageing also brings challenges to both individuals and society. With suitable government policies and health programs, the negative effects of long ageing can be reduced.