Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than show the cultures or artworks of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that instead of displaying artworks from multiple countries, museums and art exhibitions should focus on local ones. I completely disagree with this because introducing a mix of global art masterpieces brings significant benefits to society and individuals, and closing the door for foreign artworks will only result in a group of narrow-minded visitors. While displaying domestic work exclusively allows citizens to develop a deeper understanding of their culture, it is indeed detrimental. To illustrate, it runs the risk of making visitors excessively close-minded. As history has shown, economic success is typically the result of cultural fusion and technological advancement. Therefore, we can’t afford the cost of keeping to ourselves in the field of art and not exchanging ideas with foreign talents. If we valued solely local artwork, artists like Da Vinci, who frequently found inspiration from foreign artwork, would quickly run out of creativity. Furthermore, domestic viewers might develop highly restricted mindsets and reject constructive ideas from the rest of the world, which could dangerously jeopardize the advancement of a country. More significantly, displaying artwork overseas enables the general public to experience a variety of cultures and attract more guests. For example, the majority of Chinese students first learn about the U.S. by viewing an image of the Statue of Liberty in history textbooks. Those intrigued by the picture are keen to learn valuable lessons about not only American but also French culture, for things like artistic philosophy and painting skills. As a result, displaying global artwork encourages the locals to be more open-minded. Furthermore, foreign art exhibitions will attract a large number of viewers interested in various cultures, which could be a wonderful economic booster for increased revenue. In conclusion, I think museums should exhibit both indigenous and foreign artistic styles so that people can benefit much from cultural fusion and society would become more open in the long run.