Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that the legal age to get married should change to at least 21. This essay will attempt to explain why I completely disagree with the statement given and why I think that the age should not be changed. Firstly, there are many activities that the population can do when they are over 18, such as drinking alcohol, driving cars, voting during the elections period or until nowadays, getting married. In addition, the state determines that at 18 years, young people are able to have their own responsibilities and they are mature enough for making wise decisions such as which political measures fit better with them or what car they want. For example, if citizens can have a voice to make decisions at their work at 18 years, why do they need at least 21 to get married to the person they love? It is nonsense. However, it can be understandable if the rest of the laws, which were established in 18, will change in the next few years as a result of a measure to protect the young. Furthermore, another reason against this measure could be the fact that many people who are preparing for their wedding will suffer from this new legal requirement and they could make some protest to disturb this new proposal. To conclude, I think that if the legal age is 18, they should not change for one purpose as could be marriage because the rest of the rights are fixed at 18 so it will not affect any activity or situation that a married couple could do.