Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own oppinion.

Many believe studying a foreign language helps people to communicate with others during their work conversations or as a tourist, whereas others think language learning will broaden one's horizon. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. As a tourist people should develop basic linguistic skills to communicate with others on their journey, to get the information they want. For instance, a solo traveller may need to know the directions to a specific place. If he knows the vocabulary he will be able to reach his destination without a hassle. Furthermore, it will allow them to ask for a cheaper price while bargaining with vendors. As well as, employees need to be fluent in languages which will provide the opportunity to discuss and negotiate with international buyers and sellers. Moreover, in a, workplace there might be colleagues who represent a foreign nation and to share their ideas with them people need to know the terminology. On the other hand, developing language skills allow people to live abroad, start a career, make friends, and experience cultures around the world. Many people have lost their opportunity to live abroad because of their poor speech skills. Therefore, a person who is dreaming to live in a foreign land needs to practice the skills to a certain level. As well as, people with certain language abilitiesvocabulary abilities have the opportunity to build their careers as tour guides, translators, or an educator. In addition, the people have the chance to get to know a new community and experience their cultures. In conclusion, language learning has many advantages over commonly perceived ideas because it allows a nation to experience a whole new world.