In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since smartphones have become a daily basis, information access modes have been revolutionized. Newspapers are being replaced with online websites gradually. This is a debatable topic, and I am going to delve into my points in upcoming paragraphs. Online platform advocates suggest that people should be open to adopting new technologies. For example, someone who is enthusiastic about daily political news can turn the Guardian’s notifications on or order the website to send related news to his mailbox every day. Hence, being up to date by connecting internet seems easier. Besides, you can also say that newspapers made of paper consume a considerable amount of natural resources, which are not always renewable. Therefore, preferring internet websites which allow people to access quite a wide range of information from whenever and wherever they wish freely, instead of printed sheets included cost seems more reasonable. Conversely, there are some reasons in support of the other viewpoints. Newspapers’ fans still form an important part of the societies. For instance, some high-educated individuals have a daily routine for allocating a certain part of the day to the reading newspaper. The image of a family who studies the newspaper carefully around the breakfast table not only makes to feel a pang of nostalgia but also remarks the importance of literacy among them. So, some people that weigh two different platforms believe that smartphones do not cause an enriched community by connecting users to online websites. They captured people’s passion for reading. To sum up, despite some drawbacks related to online access to news, there are more merits we can acquire from it. Guiding users about more efficient usage of online devices could probably be effective.