Scientists predict that humans will speak the same language in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

Language is the heart of any civilization or culture. It gives an identity to society and has been an integral part of human life for ages. Present-day researchers predict that humans would soon speak a single global expression for communication. This has both positive and negative ramifications. Firstly, it is beneficial to have one common language. The conversational delays would dip, lessening the translational efforts among nations. Businesses can have seamless transition and globalization can prevail more, creating more jobs across countries. As an example, India generated almost 30 million jobs in the first decade of the twenty- first century because of its humongous skilled, English-speaking youth. In addition to commerce, tourism can also get boosted by shrinking language barriers. On the other hand, as expression plays a pivotal role in the existence of any society, global languages can literally weaken the roots of the local culture and can lead to the disappearance of certain beautiful dialects too. For example, post-Indian Independence, till 2010 about 300 local dialects have become extinct as many attempts were made to unify languages at a national level. This enforcement will hamper history and heritage and alienate future generations. In conclusion, though there are rational benefits of having common prose at a global level, there are multiple disadvantages to this unification. So, to achieve the goal of having a common medium of communication, Governments should take measures to encourage the development of local languages, cultures and dialects while giving equal importance to the common language to grab worldly benefits.