In the past , people ate local food in season.Nowadays people buy a variety of food from all over the world.Do the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

In the past, people had to eat only indigenous foods. However, people are purchasing a wide range of food items throughout the world, and this trend can damage a country's biodiversity and economy. The main reasons for the abundance of food are the advancement of food preservation technology and the improvement of logistics, and as a result, consumers can taste food from various food cultures.Traditional culture is bound with food; people can try many foods in their own country instead of going abroad. In addition, some imported foods may have a higher nutritional value than local ones. Dates, for example, are an imported fruit in Sri Lanka that contains many vitamins and energy, both of which patients require in order to recover quickly. On the other hand, to import food commodities, foreign currency should be spent, although imported food is not essential. Governments spend a huge amount of foreign funds instead of purchasing medicine and other necessities. Furthermore, local food may be lost as public attention wanes. For example, native oranges were popular in Sri Lanka because they were used not only as drinks but also as natural remedies; however, with the introduction of foreign oranges, they became less popular.I believe these disadvantages can damage a country's ecosystem and economy. To summarize, while consumers can eat food from all over the world, imported food can harm the system's and economy's balance. As a result, I believe that the disadvantages of food outweigh any potential benefits.