Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a proportion of people who claim that competition is considered important because it pushes individuals to give their best self. Others disagree and argue that we should learn to be more cooperative and stop competing with each other. I consider both, competitive and cooperative, required skills in order for someone to succeed. On the one hand, some individuals believe that competition either at work or at school is very significant. When people or companies are competing against each other, they are getting better and better in the specific field they are competing in. For instance, some breakthroughs some companies which specialize in building artificial intelligence systems have accomplished are a result of serious competition. On the other hand, there are some others who disagree that competition has good effects. They consider that cooperation is much more important and people should try to cooperate more instead of competing. They support their arguments in the fact that great results could only be achieved with the involvement of many people, through teamwork. No great breakthrough could be accomplished from individuals who do not cooperate with others. All in all, some people claim that competition is a good thing, while others think that we should focus more on being cooperative. My firm belief is that both of these are necessary skills for people who want to reach their full potential. We as people should focus on developing both skills in our everyday lives.