In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that governments have problems because of an ageing population, while others believe that more elderly people give benefits to society. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of having an ageing population overshadow the potential drawbacks. On the one hand, the existence of an old-age population could pose two challenges to governments. Firstly, if people live longer, they may need to be supported financially by the government. When they have retired and cannot save their income at a productive age, they will struggle to fulfil their daily necessities in their retirement. Their family may support their needs, but elderly people usually do not want to inconvenience their family members. Secondly, if they experience age-related illness, it will impact the health systems. To illustrate, as they get older, most of them suffer complications. Consequently, the treatment cost will be even higher. Because of this, they take up resources needed by other people in society. On the other hand, I would argue that having an old-age population offers more benefits to governments. First, they are an asset to the economy. Because of their experience and the excellent competencies that they have, they are frequently asked about their considerations to overcome problems and minimize potential loss. Furthermore, they also become the leaders or catalysts for achieving targets in teams of younger age. Another important point is that they are an asset for the society. After retirement, they are productive by helping working parents to babysit, spending money as consumers, and even doing charitable work. In conclusion, while having an ageing population might cause the government to give financial support and cope with health systems, they show valuable economic and societal contributions. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the drawbacks are eclipsed by the benefits.