It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Historic buildings are part of a country’s heritage. However, many people argue that the maintenance of historical architecture requires a lot of money which should be otherwise spent on constructing modern structures. In this essay, I will explain why it is important for the government to look after ancient architecture and why new designs may not be as valuable. To begin with, historic structures are the primary resource of human civilisation in the ancient era. They are works of art that contain pieces of information about our ancestors’ lives and practices in the past. For example, many temples and pagodas in Hanoi city, which may be dated back to ancient times, tell us about religious practices and beliefs in Vietnam hundreds and thousands of years ago. Without proper repairs and maintenance, this historical evidence will wither away and important details about the history of human civilisation will be lost. In addition, preserving our ancestors’ architectural heritage also helps to conserve the connection with the past and strengthen a country’s cultural awareness and identification. Therefore, it is crucial that national authorities spend a fraction of public funds on preserving old buildings. Moreover, old architectures also tell stories of local history that will attract international tourists. Consequently, they would contribute to the financial growth of local people by promoting businesses. On the other hand, constructing new buildings with modern designs may not bring the same economic benefits. Even if the new constructions are created to represent the old architecture, it would cost much more money compared to the cost of conserving the old ones. Therefore, it would be more budget-saving for the government to allocate funds to repairs and maintenance work rather than new projects. In conclusion, even though the preservation of ancient architecture may cost a large amount of money, the government should continue funding the maintenance works because they are historically and culturally important structures and they also bring more economic benefits than modern buildings.